February 28, 2011

Teleconference II Recording Available - The Warmth of Other Suns: The Epic Story of America's Great Migration

On Thursday February 24th we held our 2nd national teleconference. On this call we listened to a pre-recorded interview with Isabel Wilkerson and held a live discussion. Unfortunately, Isabel was unable to join us due to a scheduling conflict, however we had a very engaging teleconference. In case you missed it you can listen to it here -

Pulitzer Prize-winning author Isabel Wilkerson who wrote the epic book, "The Warmth of Other Suns: The Epic Story of America's Great Migration". We will then have a discussion about the impact of The Great Migration on the African American community and on the United States as a whole. We will also talk about parallels with immigration to the United States, a comparison that Ms. Wilkerson alludes to in her interview.

In her review of the book, Janet Maslin of the New York Times wrote, "Ms. Wilkerson works on a grand, panoramic scale but also on a very intimate one, since this work of living history boils down to the tenderly told stories of three rural Southerners who immigrated to big cities from their hometowns."

Be sure to join us again on March 31st and April 28th.

Teleconference III – Thursday, March 31: New African Immigrants—Grappling with Concepts of Race and Identity

Speaker: Jackie Copeland Carson, PhD, President Copeland-Carson and Associates and author of “Creating Africa in America: Translocal Identity in an Emerging World City”.

Teleconference IV – Thursday, April 28: The Afro-Caribbean and Afro-Latino Migrations to the U.S.

Speaker: Janvieve Williams Comrie, Executive Director, Latin American and Caribbean Community Center

All briefings are at Noon Pacific, 1PM Mountain, 2PM Central & 3PM Eastern

Toll-free Dial-in (US/Canada): 1-866-931-7845
International Dial-in: 1-310-374-4949
Conference Code: 707591

Please RSVP by calling (510) 663-2254 or sending an email to teleconference@blackalliance.org

1 comment:

  1. I am so proud of the determination of African Americans who wanted to experience a better life outside the rule of slavery and overt racism. This is a story that must be told so the younger generation (especially AA youth)can become knowledgeable of a piece of history that is rarely told. "TWOOS" reminds me of when I used to sit with my great grandmother and listening to her stories and be in awe of the awesome wisdom and determination of her generation. I agree...everyone needs to know this story and read this book.